Apr 22, 2023

SPAR South Africa Indoor Hockey Women Squad announced.

Following the SPAR South Africa Indoor Hockey Women’s superb run to the semi-finals at the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup 2023 in Pretoria, the team has risen to an all-time high of 6th in the World Rankings.

With planning and programmes being put together for the team in the build up to the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup in 2025, following the completion of the SA Indoor Hockey IPT at Thomas More College, South African Hockey has announced the broader squad for the team.

From this squad test teams will be selected for upcoming series. The 12 players that represented the country in the successful World Cup are retained including top goal scorer Tegan Fourie, superb shot stopper Cheree Greyvenstein and captain Jessica O’Connor.  Previously capped players Cerian Fourie and Lilian du Plessis are recalled. A further ten uncapped players are named with the opportunity to increase the depth of tantamount importance to the selection panel.

Acting CEO of SA Hockey Shaune Baaitjies:

“The SPAR South Africa Indoor Hockey team took us to new heights at the FIH Indoor Hockey World Cup in Pretoria. We are excited to see their continued growth on the global stage as they look to raise the bar even higher and contest at the business end of the tournament on a consistent basis. The squad selected is exciting with the number of uncapped players in the picture also improving our depth further!”

SPAR South African Indoor Hockey Women Squad 2023

Laiken Brissett 17 Tatum Kroutz 0
Grace Cochrane 0 Jessica Lardant 52
Laylaa Davids 0 Daniella De Oliveira 26
Teshawn De La Rey 0 Bonolo Moabi 0
Cailynn Den Bakker 0 Edith Molikoe 58
Lilian Du Plessis 13 Jessica O’Connor 132
Cerian Fourie 9 Sarah Paget 0
Tegan Fourie 51 Nepo Serage 11
Cheree Greyvenstein 61 Celia Seerane 68
Malikah Hamza 0 Jamie Southgate 75
Robyn Johnson 66 Kelsey Swanepoel 0
Kayla De Waal 39 Gabriella Terblanche 0

SA Hockey congratulates the players on their selection and wishes the best for each player when called on for the national team.

Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts