Apr 22, 2023

South African Indoor Hockey Men Squad named for 2023.

Following the 2023 SA Indoor Hockey IPT, the selection committee have selected a squad of 23 players from which test squads will be selected over the next 12 months. The SA Indoor Hockey Men, powered by Tops at SPAR, produced an all-time high finish of 6th place at the Indoor World Cup and have now risen to 7th in the FIH Indoor Hockey Rankings.

The squad selected retains the core of the world cup squad including FIH Young Player of the tournament Mustapha Cassiem. Rusten Abrahams, Dalpiarro Langford and Steven Paulo were the reserves at the tournament, and all make the squad while Spencer Botes also could add to his caps earned against Namibia.

Nicholas White and Cullin de Jager head up the uncapped player list in a squad that has flair and technical ability in spades. It promises to be an exciting time for supporters of the BlitzStoks.

Acting CEO of SA Hockey Shaune Baaitjies:

“The SA Indoor Hockey men, powered by Tops at SPAR, thrilled the world with their high-octane approach at the Indoor Hockey World Cup. They are an exciting team to watch, and the talent identified will continue to develop and enhance the culture and reputation of the team.”

SA Indoor Hockey Men, powered by Tops at SPAR, Squad for 2023

Rusten Abrahams 31 Luke Lange 0
Spencer Botes 5 Dalpiarro Langford 11
Dayaan Cassiem 28 Bonga Mngoma 17
Mustapha Cassiem 28 Hans Neethling 0
Cullin De Jager 0 Justin Domleo 48
Leruo Dithlhakanyane 0 Steven Paulo 13
Kyle Esau 0 Phemelo Ramatlotlo 0
Jethro Eustice 46 Daniel Sibbald 18
Chad Futcher 23 Aiden Tun 26
Lungani Gabela 25 Anton Van Loggerenberg 21
Keegan Hezlett 21 Nicholas White 0
Ryan Julius 27 Idrees Abdulla 0

SA Hockey would like to congratulate the men selected and wish them the best for the challenges and opportunities that await

Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts