Jun 7, 2024

South Africa U21 Women’s 2024 Squad announced.

The South African Hockey Association has announced the South African Under 21 Women’s Squad. The 34-player squad, under the tutelage of new head coach Cindy Brown, will see a team selected for the SA Hockey IPT in September and the Junior Africa Cup in Ghana in October, with the goal of qualifying for the 2025 FIH Junior World Cup, an expanded 24 team tournament.

13 players in the 34 were part of the FIH Junior World Cup that took part in Santiago in December 2023 including Malikah Hamza, Taheera Augousti and Ntsopa Mokoena. Although a young side there are a number of players who have represented the senior sides across the three formats including Cerian Fourie and Laiken Brisset (Indoor Hockey), Rea Phume and Paris-Gail Issaacs (11-a side) and Germarie Speershot and Rea Phume(Hockey5s).

The squads were selected on the back of the South African U21 Hockey IPT held at UCT in Cape Town with North West emerging as champions after defeating Western Province in the final.

SA Women’s U21 Hockey Squad 2024

Name Name
Alexandra Eagles Kayla Swarts
Amber Fairon Kelly Van Rooyen
Amy van Rooyen Laiken Brisset
Ane Janse van Vuuren Leané Mclaren
Angele Vogel Lilly-Anne Theron
Arisha Van Niekerk Malikah Hamza
Baylee Engelke Nomsa Mzizi
Caylin Maree Ntsopa Mokoena
Cerian Fourie Nuriyah Bell
Chanel Genis Paige Salis
Germarie Spershott Paris-Gail Isaacs
Ifeoma Ndubueze Reabetswe Phume
Iman Bonnasse Richele Norval
Jade Regnart Taheera Augousti
Jenna Blaauw Talita Modiakgotla-Botha
Jodie Blows Tanya Pieterse
Katlego Bodibe Teshawn De La Rey




Learn more on this topic

Related Blog Posts